News Horror Gothic Lifestyle Fiction Movies Books and Literature Dark TV VIP Horror Professionals Professional Writing Tips Links Gothic Forum

2011 Bram Stoker Award Winners

| |

Congratulations to all the Stoker winners! This is all work well worth checking out.
stoker winners 2011

Superior Achievement in a NOVEL
Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney (Pinnacle Books)
Flesh Eaters by Joe McKinney

Superior Achievement in a FIRST NOVEL
Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird (Dark Regions Press)
Isis Unbound by Allyson Bird

Superior Achievement in a YOUNG ADULT NOVEL (tie)
> The Screaming Season by Nancy Holder (Razorbill)
Screaming Season A Possessions Novel by Nancy Holder
> Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers)
Dust and Decay by Jonathan Maberry

Superior Achievement in a GRAPHIC NOVEL
Neonomicon by Alan Moore (Avatar Press)
Neonomica Graphic Novel by Alan Moore

Superior Achievement in LONG FICTION
The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine” by Peter Straub (Conjunctions: 56)
The Ballad of Ballard and Sandrine by Peter Straub

Superior Achievement in SHORT FICTION
Herman Wouk Is Still Alive” by Stephen King (The Atlantic Magazine, May 2011)
Herman Wouk is Still Alive by Stephen King

Superior Achievement in a SCREENPLAY
American Horror Story, episode #12: “Afterbirth” by Jessica Sharzer (20th Century Fox Television)
AHS Afterbirth episode 12

Superior Achievement in a FICTION COLLECTION
The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares by Joyce Carol Oates (Mysterious Press)
The Corn Maiden and Other Nightmares by Joyce Carol Oates

Superior Achievement in an ANTHOLOGY
Demons: Encounters with the Devil and his Minions, Fallen Angels and the Possessed edited by John Skipp (Black Dog and Leventhal)
Demons by John Skipp

Superior Achievement in NON-FICTION
Stephen King: A Literary Companion by Rocky Wood (McFarland & Company, Inc., Publishers)
Stephen King a Literary Companion by Rocky Wood

Superior Achievement in a POETRY COLLECTION
How to Recognize a Demon Has Become Your Friend by Linda Addison (Necon Ebooks)
Demon Poetry

At long last, the anticipation is over. The Horror Writers Association announced the winners of the 2011 Bram Stoker Awards™ at its annual awards banquet tonight. This year’s presentation was held in Salt Lake City, Utah, at the World Horror Convention, and marks the 25th Anniversary of the awards.

Twelve new bronze haunted-house statuettes were handed over to the writers responsible for creating superior works of horror last year.

Works can be recommended by any member of the HWA. Juries in each category also compile their top picks, and members with Active status then vote works from both the member recommendations and the jury selections onto a preliminary ballot. From there the field is narrowed to the final ballot and Active members choose the winners from that. The award is named for Bram Stoker, best known as the author of Dracula. The trophy, which resembles a miniature haunted house, was designed by author Harlan Ellison and sculptor Steven Kirk.

Related Posts:

Posted by on Monday, April 2nd, 2012. Filed under Books, Events, Headline, Horror, Professional. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,