Gothic.net Community

Gothic.net Community (https://www.gothic.net/boards/index.php)
-   Introductions (https://www.gothic.net/boards/forumdisplay.php?f=17)
-   -   A funny thing happened on the way to g.net (https://www.gothic.net/boards/showthread.php?t=26196)

april13 04-23-2012 03:28 PM

A funny thing happened on the way to g.net

When thinking about this introduction I must admit I found myself tempted, as one tends to be, to embellish certain aspects of my life and personality so they would seem as fabulous to you as I perceive them to be.

Funnily enough, I decided not to do that, because I feel I might enjoy this forum a whole lot more and longer if I drop the bull shit online posturing and just try to just shoot the shit with you guys about a bunch of stuff we happen to be interested in.

So, also for your attention span's sake, I will limit my introduction proper to the bare minimum and some shit I'm interested in that we might talk about.

I am not a complete newbie to g.net, having posted semi regularly quite a while back and lurking periodically after that.

I'm in my thirties and work a corporate job I find tolerable. I am broadly interested but Art and (pop)culture interest me most, and enjoying these as much as possible is my life goal. I am an out and proud lesbian but I prefer the term queer. I am a staunch feminist despite being shamefully illiterate in the subject.

I'm nowhere near as well-read as I like to pretend, but at Uni I got to know and love the classics.
Shakespeare (or should I say 'and collaborators') is awesome but I'd say Chaucer is more brilliant, a shame I hardly even looked at those beautiful volumes I bought.
I've enjoyed the odd Gothic Novel but wouldn't list any amongst my favourites except Frankenstein and Carmilla. (one could argue whether they classify as gothic but that's another discussion)