Gothic.net News Horror Gothic Lifestyle Fiction Movies Books and Literature Dark TV VIP Horror Professionals Professional Writing Tips Links Gothic Forum

Go Back   Gothic.net Community > Boards > Fashion

Fashion DIY tips and gratuitous plugs. And hair. Hair! Flow it, show it. Wait...no. That's some hippie musical. Nevermind.

Old 12-20-2013, 04:56 PM   #1
Everlit

Help with altering an old dress

I bought this dress from a second hand store and wore it to prom last year. It's already black with really neat corsetted sides. I love the shape of it. I just would like some ideas (sleeves, jewels, LACE, etc etc). It has little flower-like pieces of fabric on it. I'm not sure if I love them or not. Would like to know if I should remove them... I'm really new to DIY sorts of stuff, so just throw out ideas.

And if you have any other cool easy DIY projects, I would love to see those too!

Thanks a bunch!

Everlit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2013, 11:20 PM   #2
Acharis

That is actually really nice. For myself I'd prefer it without the flowers but first make sure that removing them won't damage the dress itself.

Recommend you find a tailor or alterations place if you really aren't sure.

Ps. You can always cut out the gusset and snip the feet off some fishnet tights, pull them over like a top before you put on the dress. That's the easiest fastest 'sleeves' I know of.
Acharis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 07:53 AM   #3
Lady Ruthven

I can't seem to open the pictures but from your description it sounds really nice.