Gothic.net News Horror Gothic Lifestyle Fiction Movies Books and Literature Dark TV VIP Horror Professionals Professional Writing Tips Links Gothic Forum

Go Back   Gothic.net Community > Boards > Introductions
Register Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Introductions This is a forum for members (new and old) to introduce themselves and get to know each other. Start a new thread and introduce yourself. Tell us a little about what you like and what you are into and such.

Old 03-11-2006, 01:24 AM   #1
bluesmuse

Bonjour, mes amies - c'est ma premiere!

Hello -- I figured it was time I said something besides just eavesdropping.

My name is Elizabeth, and I'm a Master of English graduate student lost in the heartland; I'm planning on declaring my concentration in Gothic fiction. In academia, I believe the Gothic is officially acknowledged within the Romantic Era, but there's some dispute on that at my university. I think I'm a first for them :o) . . . nothing like popping an old virgin's cherry! (heh heh heh)

Anyway, what I'm doing is not exactly all about what most people consider Goth(ic) --
although I've been wearing the "colors" for years (ie.,black with anything).
Many who read and write about Gothic Fiction, or study it (in a scholarly way)
seem to want to distance themselves from the contemporary Gothic
culture, but I believe there is a connection, and scholars & Goths need to embrace.

Consequently, with this weird "schizismatic" niche I seem to find myself in,
I'm not sure I fit in anywhere, but I will continue to reach out my hand and
call out into the abyss and hopefully someone will call back.

Amour, mes amies --
Elizabeth
bluesmuse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 01:44 AM   #2
Magpie_Tendencies

Hey another Elizabeth!! Welcome!!

Sorry, I get excited when people have the same name as me - even if it is a common name .