Gothic.net News Horror Gothic Lifestyle Fiction Movies Books and Literature Dark TV VIP Horror Professionals Professional Writing Tips Links Gothic Forum

Go Back   Gothic.net Community > Boards > Introductions
Register Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Introductions This is a forum for members (new and old) to introduce themselves and get to know each other. Start a new thread and introduce yourself. Tell us a little about what you like and what you are into and such.

Old 04-23-2008, 02:52 PM   #1
insolitus_noir

the questionnaire of doom strikes again!

Greetings. I'm new around these here parts and, as per the custom, I'm offering my own answers to the Big 14...

1. What do you do? (Hobbies, job)

I’m a writer; staff writer for Morbid Outlook, film/theatre/art critic and columnist for The Front Page Online, marketing coordinator for an architecture firm, wedding ceremony writer/officiant. Hobbies include archery, camping, traveling, walks along the beach, movies, reading, hanging out...just to name a few.

My current writing project is an article for Morbid Outlook on goths and politics, for which I’m in the process of gathering data.

2. Where are you from?
Originally, Canada. I’ve lived in Los Angeles for 8 years.

3. Who is your favorite author?
I read a lot, so it’s hard to pick a favourite. And these days I tend to read more non-fiction than fiction. But I always enjoy Lewis Carroll, Arthur C. Clarke, Tim Powers, L.E. Modesitt Jr., Charless Sheffield, and others. Poetry-wise, I love Tennyson, Plath, Sexton, and Hejduk. I’m currently reading Against Happpiness by Eric G. Wilson and refreshing my Nietzsche with Thus Spoke Zarathustra.

4. What are your favorite films?
The list is long, but includes The Winter Guest, Dead Man, 2001: A Space Odyssey, The Fountain, The Ninth Configuration.

5. What music do you want played at your wedding?
We walked down the aisle to an excerpt from Henry Purcell’s The Fairy Queen.

6. At your funeral?